League leaders in three different decades

One of my all time favorite baseball facts is that George Brett won a batting title in three different decades. He pulled off the feat in 1977, 1979 and 1990.

I just realized I’ve never looked up how rare it is in other parts of the game. Of course, it means a player has to start his career at the end of one decade, play through another and do well at the beginning of the third.

Some leaders were obvious.

Home runs

For instance, Babe Ruth lead the league in homers in 1918-21, 23-24, 26-30. So he led the majors in homers in three different decades.


Nolan Ryan led the major leagues in strikeouts in 1972-1974, 1976-79, 1987-1990. So he had a strikeout crown in each decade.


Pete Rose led the league in hits 1965, 1972-73, 1976, 1981.

Tom Seaver led the league in wins in 1969, 1975 and 1981.
Bob Feller led the league in wins in 1939-41, 1946-47, 1951.

Then there’s Warren Spahn.

Warren Spahn led the league in ERA in 1947, 1953 and 1961. He led the league in wins in 1949, 1953, 1957, 1961


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s